Getting Your Marriage License in New York State
While planning your wedding in New York, be sure to familiarize yourself with the laws of the Empire State and it's municipalities.
You can obtain your license at a city or town clerk's office anywhere in New York State 24 hours to 60 days prior to your wedding. *If you need your license less than 24 hours before your wedding, you will need a judicial waiver. Better to plan ahead and have it taken care of for your own peace of mind.
Will you be getting married in New York City? If your answer is "Yes!", then you MUST utilize a NYC Registered Officiant if you are going to be wed in one of the 5 boroughs of New York City. Rev. Lisa Zaro is registered with the City of New York and is proud to serve as the officiating clergy for couples in NYC, Upstate NY and Northern NJ.
For official marriage license requirements in the State of New York, please visit the State's official site at https://www.health.ny.gov/publications/4210/
Current fee: $40.00
For official marriage license requirements in the City of New York, please visit NYC's official site at http://www.cityclerk.nyc.gov/html/marriage/license.shtml
Current fee: $35.00
- If you are being wed by a friend or family member who has been ordained online, please be sure to check with the municipality you are being wed in to ensure the legality of your marriage. If you are in doubt, you may have your close friend or family member perform your ceremony and one of our Professional Officiants witness your nuptials. We will ask you a few questions after your ceremony in order to meet the legal requirements set forth by the state, pronounce you, and finally, we will sign as the presiding clergy.
- Don't wait until the last minute to obtain your license in NY. Yes, you can get it as late as 24 hours prior to your wedding, but what if you leave an important document at home? You will be out of time and need a judicial waiver to go ahead with your nuptials. We recommend you go as early as feasible so that you may have peace of mind and check the license off of your to-do list.
- Once you have your license, put it with the belongings you will keep with you at the ceremony location, such as your 'day of' tote bag, briefcase, purse or basket.
- Do NOT give it to anyone before your wedding day. Our practice is that we do not take hold of your license at your rehearsal or final meeting. It should stay in your safe keeping at all times. Why? What if your Officiant, best friend, best man, planner or parent that you asked to hold it does not make it to the wedding due to an emergency situation (accident or dire illness). Without the presence of your license, you can not be legally wed in New York State.
Would you like more information about our professional services at Personalized Ceremonies Rev. Zaro & Officiants? We would love to talk with you! Please feel free to reach out at any time via our online contact form or call us at 1-845-222-5146 (NY) or 1-201-785-7933 (NJ).
- Reminder: For Official Legal Information from the State of New York, click here: https://www.health.ny.gov/publications/4210/ and for the City of New York, click here: http://www.cityclerk.nyc.gov/html/marriage/license.shtml